The Evangelical Universalist Forum

Trauma and free will

I don’t want to re-open the entire ‘freewillism’ debate; but I would like for you to weigh in on what part trauma, particularly in childhood, plays in adulthood addictions and compulsions.
I think the evidence is fairly conclusive that childhood trauma is a causal effect of addiction in later life. Not a necessary or a sufficient cause in itself, perhaps, but the rate of addiction in adults that had fairly severe trauma as children is roughly 2:1 compared to a ‘normal’ childhood.

In any case, I’m not an expert though I have read quite a bit on the subject. Personally I received NO help from Christian elders when I became a Christian at 17 yrs old, and continued to have severe addiction/compulsion problems. But those were different times, and advice was always along the lines of sin and judgment, prayer and just plain old ‘will-power’. So I do admit to some prejudice towards the concept of ‘free-will’, but it was many years and disappointments later that the culture began to understand that the world is not flat, and that Freud and Jung, etc, were not just blowing smoke.

Here is an excerpt for your consideration. Do you think makes any valid points? What difference do those points make?