The Evangelical Universalist Forum

The Intermediate state

Hello everyone,

I hope I am posting my question in the correct forum section. I am new to this concept, so if my questions seem to elementary, please pardon me. Thanks.

My questions come from a post-millennial, or a-millennial (realized) perspective. (I’m sure there may be dispensationalists or full preterists who believe in Universal Reconciliation but my question is more suited for the post-mil, a-mil positions) :

By intermediate state, I mean the time between the death of the human body and the resurrection of the human body on the last day.

1. Are those who have died in conscious existence in the intermediate state?

2. If yes to number 1: Can those who consciously exist in hell/hades (or whatever you call the intermediate state for those who die unbelievers) be converted (regeneration, faith and repentance - as a Calvinist, I’ll put regeneration first logically, though you may re-organize it if you like) prior to the resurrection on the last day?

3. If yes to question 2: Are those who are converted prior to the resurrection immediately translated into the presence of Christ, or must they remain in a state of suffering until the resurrection?

4. If you answered that they are translated into the presence of Christ, is there any Biblical references that point to this? or, if you answered that they must remain in a state of suffering until the resurrection on the last day, why?

5. If you answered yes to question 2, would they be included in the “dead in Christ” who would rise first on 1 Thes 4:14 ff ?

6. If you answered “no” to question 1, any other question, or if UR implies something totally different, then what?

I hope my questions make sense and you are able to see the overall jist of what I am asking.

I found the answers to the above question in the following thread.

[Proportionate to the crime?)