The Evangelical Universalist Forum

Matthew 25:46

I am new to universal reconciliation.

Can someone please explain to me Matthew 25:46 …

“Then they will go away to eternal punishment, but the righteous to eternal life.”

I am sure it has been asked before, but if eternal in punishment doesn’t mean forever, what does the eternal in life mean? Some say it means ages, but isn’t that the same thing? If punishment lasts for ages, and eternal life lasts for ages, doesn’t that imply the same duration?

Your answers would be much appreciated!

Thanks,
Brian

Welcome to the forum Brian!

That’s ok, we’ve all been new to it at some stage :slight_smile:

There’s more than one way to answer this question, for example:

1. Someone will experience punishment eternally until God intervenes and gives them eternal life.

2. “Eternal” is almost certainly a mistranslation of the NT Greek word aionios. It can be demonstrated that it’s a word with a wide range of meanings (e.g. ancient, lasting, pertaining to an age or ages, eonian, age-during, beyond the horizon, unseen). As you can see, these options are indefinite but usually with an impression of reasonable length of time (I say impression because Jonah’s time in the fish is described as aionios, and even though from his perspective, there was no end in sight, that only lasted 3 days!) .

Option 2, doesn’t rule out the eternal life because:
A) There are plenty of other passages that describe the aionios life as being in the direct sustaining/renewing presence of God, being without death, decay, rust, etc.

B) There’s almost certainly multiple ages, therefore the punishment could be for the first few & the life could be for all of them.