The Evangelical Universalist Forum

Face to face

In the last few years I have become quite fascinated by this scripture. I read it many, many times as a kid and even memorized it. It has always been a most comforting couple of sentences to me.

Now I may be completely in the weeds here but I think this scripture is saying something absolutely fantastical.

Here’s how I see it.

God knows EVERTHING about me, EVERYTHING. He knows my thoughts, hopes, dreams, fears, what I think about each person I know, everything. He knows all of my past thoughts and actions, present thoughts and actions, and future thoughts and actions, everything.

I am fully known by God. In fact God knows infinitely more about me than I do about myself.

Now think very carefully about this:

- God knows me fully.

- Someday I will know (God) as He fully knows me now.

I’m not a math expert but I think these bullet points can be constructed as an equation or formula. Anyone know?

The implications of this are staggering. STAGGERING.

Or maybe not because the original Greek just doesn’t allow it to be boiled down this way. I’m not a Greek scholar so I can’t say.

However, earlier in 1 Corinthians, Paul gave us this:

It seems to me that Paul is making another rather fantastic claim here that sets the stage for our 1 Cor 13 scripture.

You know what you are thinking, but I don’t because I’m not you. Only you can know what you are thinking. Apparently, it is the spirit of a man that allows him to know his own thoughts.

So, if God knows my thoughts, then how? Perhaps because He breathed into me His breath of life, His spirit, and so now He knows my every thought?

Paul makes the claim that we may know the very thoughts (mind) of God because we have his spirit. So does it work both ways? God knows our thoughts and we can know His because we share the same spirit?