The Evangelical Universalist Forum

Revelations 20:10

10 And the devil, who deceived them, was thrown into the lake of burning sulfur, where the beast and the false prophet had been thrown. They will be tormented day and night for ever and ever.

It says that the devil, the beast and the false prophet will be tormented forever and ever. “Aions” here can refer to a time period?

As a teenager, I thought this verse proved eternal hell.

After I studied Greek, I found that the expression “εις τους αιωνος των αιωνων” literally means “into the ages of the ages”.It does not mean “forever and ever.”

“Ages of ages” could be a very long time, but not an infinite amount of time.

For an age and an age. The two aions are represented in the same verse, so you don’t have to look far on knowing how long this is:

Revelation 20:10
And the devil that deceived them was cast into the lake of fire and brimstone, where are also the beast and the false prophet; and they shall be tormented [a] day and [a] night for [an aion] ever and [an aion] ever.

The beast and the false prophet are tormented for a day and a night, for an aion and an aion. It has never meant forever (infinity) but to give you an understanding there is a day followed by a night but we keep reading…

Revelation 21:22-26
(Speaking of the New Day)
And I saw no temple therein: for the Lord God the Almighty, and the Lamb, are the temple thereof. And the city hath no need of the sun, neither of the moon, to shine upon it: for the glory of God did lighten it, and the lamp thereof is the Lamb.
And the nations shall walk amidst the light thereof: and the kings of the earth bring their glory into it. And the gates thereof shall in no wise be shut by day (for there shall be no more night): and they shall bring the glory and the honor of the nations into it.